"Suck it up, kid. I’m doing this forever."

Time flies when you’re changing nappies, wiping away milky spew, getting wee’d on, keeping your dogs away from your child’s face and debating over when the right time is to use a dummy. It speeds by when you’re waking up a few times a night to feed, or when you’re waking up just to check if your kid is alive. It’s a blur of bath times, hiccups and seemingly more wardrobe changes than when [insert celeb here] changed so many times at [insert event name here].

It’s been a month since Alice was born. [Okay, technically a month and two days. Whatever.] I can scarcely wrap my head around it. It’s been life-changing in the most wonderful way. Nothing will be the same again…and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I came across a cartoon the other day by the unbelievably talented Brian Gordon of Fowl Language Comics and it kind of expresses everything I’m feeling right now.

Suck it up, kid. I’m doing this forever. (Credit: https://twitter.com/fowlcomics/status/722818135078776833)
Get used to it, Alice. Dad loves you. And he’ll tell you that all.the.damn.time.

Leave a comment