There’s a child for that

People often ask me the what I’m looking forward to most about becoming a dad. Is it, perhaps, the feeling of having this young life in your life that you can nurture and teach and help to grow up? Or is it, maybe, taking our two-person family and making it a three-person family? Well, yes, it is those things. But there’s something I’m looking forward to even more.

The best thing about becoming a parent is that I get to inherit a person to do things I don’t want to.

Don’t feel like making coffee? Make your kid do it. Don’t feel like fetching something from your car? Send the kid. Have something you really, really don’t want to do? There’s a child for that.

And if the child doesn’t want to do it? I have a few answers for them:

Of course, I know I’ll be waiting a while for this to happen. Can’t really expect the kid to come home and start vacuuming from day 1 — I mean, I’d like to, but even I realise that this isn’t really possible. But it is this type of delayed gratification that will make it all worthwhile.

In the meantime, I’m taking tips from How To Dad:

Leave a comment